Love Rescued Me: A Sinner’s Journey

prodigal-son

click on picture to listen to complete sermon

LOVE RESCUED ME: A SINNERS JOURNEY

Scripture: Luke 15: 11-32

1.) How did love rescue me? 

By bringing me to my senses!

 Verse 17 to 19 says,  “17 When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired men have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired men.”

 God’s love rescued us by bringing us to our senses and get us to see the errors of our ways.

2.) How did love rescue me?

By allowing me to repent!

Verse 21 says, 21The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. “I am no longer worthy to be called your son.”

God’s love rescued us by giving us the opportunity to repent in order that the fellowship with God can be restored.

3.) How did love rescue me?

By extending grace to me! 

Verse 22 says, 22 But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet.”

The robe, the ring and the sandals were a demonstration of the father’s grace, a rescue sign, being extended towards his child. By giving his child something tangible, something the son could see and experience with his very own eyes, it showed the father’s willingness to rescue his boy from his sins.

God showed us just how willing He was to rescue us from our sins by sending His son Jesus to die for our sins on Calvary’s cross.

Rev. German Figueroa

Would like to hear from you, please leave a reply