Christmas Series Week 2

Reverend German Figueroa tells us how to prepare the way for the Lord

December 11, 2011

Week 2

Luke 1: 67- 80
  
 As we gather around with our families, friends, fellow co-workers and neighbors this Christmas Season, how prepared are we to talk to them about  the true meaning of Christmas? In the Gospel of Luke Chapter 1, we take a look on how we need to go about preparing the way for the Lord.
 
 How do I go about preparing the way for the Lord?
 
There are some things I need to know, there are some things I need to  see and there is something I need to do.
 
1) Before I can prepare the way for the Lord, I need to know what it means to give the people the knowledge of salvation through the forgivenss of their sins.
 
2) Before I can prepare the way for the Lord I need to see God’s tender mercy through His Son Jesus Christ.
 
3) Before I can prepare the way for the Lord, I need to spend time in the wilderness with God so that He can first prepare me.
 
A) The wilderness is a place where I experience God’s power.
Isaiah 48:21 ” They did not thirst when He led them through the deserts; He made  water flow for them from the rock; He split the rock and the water gushed out.
 
B) The wilderness is a place where I experience temptation.
Matthew4: 1-4 “Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. And after fasting forty days and forty nights he was hungry. And the tempter came and said to Him, If you are the Son of God, command  these stones to become loaves of bread. But He answered , It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Would like to hear from you, please leave a reply